Lets see, what have I done in the last 4 months.
Set a PR in the 5k, 22:29 at the Design A Wish 5k over at the Pink. Harder course than most, several hills at the start, 23rd overall out of 400 plus, 3rd in my age range, this is where I tend to fall. Usually I finish in the top 10% locally on anything sub 10k. Next year when I turn 35, the age bracket gets competitive, my current PR and average are a lot lower. Guess I'll have to improve.
Had a horrible Zoom through the Zoo, still did 31:37 so I guess I can call that a PR, I was hoping for better, but was tired and hot and had not really trained hard. Which ties into what happened the following week at the Navy Nautical 10 aka 11.5 miler. I was in no shape for this run, having not gone longer than 7 miles in the months leading up to it, plus it was 85 degrees at start. Add in that you run about 10-15 minutes slower when in extreme heat, that justifies the 1:52.52 I did. Next year, they are going to try to move it to May, I also am going to have to continue to train, I really fell off after the G-Town half. That won't happen again.
For the RRS, I am currently 2:15 ahead of last year, and I dialed it down a little today. In two weeks in Bartlett, I hope to break 40, do that for 2 straight races, then I will have shaved off almost 5 more minutes off last year, I am on pace to shave close to 30 mins off my time this year over year. Yeah?
37th Overton Mile Classic is this upcoming weekend, died hard on it last year, this year I ain't going out like that. Breaking 40 is my goal, I should be able to do it. Better shape and better food should help, I ate horrible the night before and ran out of energy quick.
Side news, my good friend Pat is going to be doing the Disney Half in January next year. Congrats to him, he's lost close to a 100 pounds in his weight loss plan. In 2013, I will run the tag team marathon with him. Something to look forward to.
Digression two, Pam is doing the Women's Run/Walk training, her finish is the day after the Cooper-Young 4 miler in September(I have an interview on this race coming up as I was the first person to register, link coming when it posts). Good luck babe.
I am going back to my 2-3 times weekly posts on running, I will do this through the St Jude. Pics, links, and others as they come.
Showing posts with label Personal Record. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Personal Record. Show all posts
Sunday, July 24, 2011
Monday, February 28, 2011
Monday feels good
Quick Weekend recap
WOO FUCKING HOO!!!! Bested 50, hell 48 flat, and I left a few seconds out there, tip to start to finish who ran this event, turn the FUCKING CLOCK AROUND SO THAT IT CAN BE SEEN AS YOU FINISH. My indicated time was 48:24, due to my start placement, finished in 48, if I had thought I could have beated 48:20, i would have continued my sprint. Meh, now I have to aim at sub 48 next time I run a 10k which admittedly will be a while. Side note, music was excellante mixo this time, California Lovin by Pac and Dre started me off, Saturday in the Park by Chicago when we through Handy, and last two songs were Don't Stop (live from the Dance) and You only get what you Give. Due to shuffle, no way it was planned so the Kudo of the Week to my Evo's music player software
The course was easy, the 5 and 10 were the same until the 2.5 marker when the 5kers turned off and we kept running through downtown. It was a strange course, ran past the Blue Monkey, ran through that housing development on the bluffs, and did a big out loop then back in to finsh on Beale. Another suggestion for races that end in a non even numbered distance, put up a 1 mile to go sign to help us out.
Next day, ran from the house to the Zoo, its a shade under 5 miles from the house there on Poplar. Legs took forever to unkink and the wind was kicking up, but I felt good. The pace I ran is what I want to try and do for the Nautical 10 miler in June and hopefully (not bloody likely) for a half at some point soonish.
No run today. Rest day then run for three of the next four with a long on Thursday. Then its off for most of next week due to VACATION!!!!!!!! Post later this week coming.
WOO FUCKING HOO!!!! Bested 50, hell 48 flat, and I left a few seconds out there, tip to start to finish who ran this event, turn the FUCKING CLOCK AROUND SO THAT IT CAN BE SEEN AS YOU FINISH. My indicated time was 48:24, due to my start placement, finished in 48, if I had thought I could have beated 48:20, i would have continued my sprint. Meh, now I have to aim at sub 48 next time I run a 10k which admittedly will be a while. Side note, music was excellante mixo this time, California Lovin by Pac and Dre started me off, Saturday in the Park by Chicago when we through Handy, and last two songs were Don't Stop (live from the Dance) and You only get what you Give. Due to shuffle, no way it was planned so the Kudo of the Week to my Evo's music player software
The course was easy, the 5 and 10 were the same until the 2.5 marker when the 5kers turned off and we kept running through downtown. It was a strange course, ran past the Blue Monkey, ran through that housing development on the bluffs, and did a big out loop then back in to finsh on Beale. Another suggestion for races that end in a non even numbered distance, put up a 1 mile to go sign to help us out.
Next day, ran from the house to the Zoo, its a shade under 5 miles from the house there on Poplar. Legs took forever to unkink and the wind was kicking up, but I felt good. The pace I ran is what I want to try and do for the Nautical 10 miler in June and hopefully (not bloody likely) for a half at some point soonish.
No run today. Rest day then run for three of the next four with a long on Thursday. Then its off for most of next week due to VACATION!!!!!!!! Post later this week coming.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)