Showing posts with label Overton. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Overton. Show all posts

Sunday, July 31, 2011

I love me some me

Overton 5 mile was yesterday. I did what I didn't think I could do, I broke 40, 39:58 to be precise thanks to a full fledged sprint at the end. Thankfully the course was shaded for almost all of it, considering .75 was on trail, not surprising.

The trail was a lot longer this year, twice as much as last year, also instead of being a double loop, the trail started at the 3 mile mark, went around, and dumped you back out near the original i mile marker and you ran back to the start, so the start and finish were in the same spot. Here is a good photo of me approaching the trail start, which was also by the start finish line.

Ran this morning, it was oppresive hot due to my being an idiot and running at 1030 when I should have gotten out there before 9. Went two miles as a just to loosen the legs up, went and did weights this afternoon for the first time in a month, upper body only, tomorrow going to do some leg and core stuff. That's it for now, no races on the docket until two weeks from now with the 1st MRRS 5 miler in Bartlett.

Quick tip: The hidden reason guys wear either no shirt of a really loose one is to prevent nipple chafing. I hurt right now.

Friday, July 29, 2011

Well, looks like a first will occur

Looks like rain tomorrow. If so, no pics from me, but I will post links.

Week of training has been abbreviated due to extreme heat, Pam being sick (have to watch the jackalope), and general apathy. Overton 5 Mile classic is tomorrow, due to the thunderstorms we are going to have today and through tomorrow, i expect my time to be slow. I don't expect to break 40 minutes due to part of the race being off road on grass and trail, and oh yeah, not training hard due to heat.

I will start next week with either night runs and/or getting my fat ass up early and running in the morning. I have 3 shots at breaking 40 in the 5 over the next 4 weeks. The best shot is the 2nd 5 miler in Bartlett, but I am going to try and get it out of the way.

Here is your friendly tip for races. Get to the race at least an hour early. This way you can get a decent parking spot (cannot be overrated), get an idea where the start line is, hit the port-a-john, get your stretching in, and relax because you won't be in a hurry.